diploma in anaesthetics 

Recent graduates

1st Semester 2019

K Venter

V van Niekerk

Y Chang

S Alladeen

N Mbokazi

N Mashuga

G Robinson

M Padayachee


2nd Semester 2018

K Maharaj

S Seevnarain

A Levey

A Clark

N van Staden

M Nel

G Ferreira

A Ooko

C Pieterse

F Baba

A Theron

K le Roux

S Essa


1st Semester 2018

           A Dlungwane

            A Carpenter

            A Govender

            K Goodwin

            N Solomons

2nd Semester 2017

           N Naidoo

           T Langa

           K Fidler

           M Kathrada

           B Hosking

1st Semester 2017

G Cakwebe
C Chetty
R Cooper
J Hlatywayo
Z Ntlanti
K Rangai
V Tembo

SASA John Couper DA Medal

Pietermaritzburg Metropolitan Recipients


1993 Sept     Lynette Duckworth 

1998 Sept     Gill Reay 

2001 Mar      Rose Mulder (Vorster)

2002 Sept     Michelle Arcache 

2004 Mar      Brian Allwood 

2006 Sept     Kerry Timmerman 

2008 Sept     Leah Reid 

2010 Mar      Adam Capek

2014 Sept     Francis Orr

2018 Sept     Andrew Levey

congress awards

2006   Reitze Rodseth     Registrar Communication Prize, SASA congress

2007   David Bishop,       Best poster presentation at PACSAcongress

            Robert Wise

2010   Rob Wise               Best oral presentation at CCSSA congress

2010   Sam Dawson        Best poster presentation at CCSSA congress

2012   Rob Wise               Best poster presentation at CCSSA congress

            Reitze Rodseth     Best Oral Presentation by a Master’s
                                            Student, Faculty of Health Sciences 

                                            Research Plenary; McMaster University,


2013   Leigh Solomon      Best poster presentation at SASA congress

            Reitze Rodseth      Best Oral Presentation, College of Health 

                                             Sciences Research Symposium

2018   Belinda Merrifield Best poster presentation at PACSA



FCA part 1
FCA part 2

Recent successes



Adam Carpenter

Mohammed Kathrada

Pam Gumede


           Andile Buthelezi

Jon-Marc Tomlinson


           Tando Mtubu

Belinda Merrifield


           Santhurie Pillay

           Gary Simpson


           Lieze Geldenhuys


           Rob Barnes                            

           Marcelle Jagga 

Recent successes




Rob Barnes


Mncedisi Nontshe

Odie Swart

Ibrahim al-Turki



Helen Buley



Garth Horsten

Dabielle Potgieter

Kate Gordon

Pete Slabber

Thivian Pillay

Leigh Solomon


Congratulations to Dr John Krynauw, who wrote the Part 1 in October 2018 after transferring to Durban. He was awarded the Hymie Samson Medal FCA(SA) Part I - excellence in Physics and Clinical Measurement 

Congratulations to Dr Garth Horsten, awarded the following from the March 2013 examinations:


  • Jannsen Research foundation medal (overall medal for the exam)

  • Abbot Medal (Excellence in Pharmacology section )

  • Glaxo Smith Kline Medal (Excellence in Physiology section)

departmental awards

2007   Reitze Rodseth              Best registrar

2008   Rob Wise                        Best registrar

            Reitze Rodseth              Best presentation

2009   David Bishop                 Best presentation

2011   Nosisi Mzoneli               Best registrar

            Richard von Rahden     Best teacher

            Colin Mitchell                 Best presentation (PMB)

            Christella Alphonsus     Best presentation (Durban)

2012   Colin Mitchell                  Best registrar 

2013   Nosisi Mzoneli                Best registrar

2017   Odie Swart                       Best registrar

other achievments

2009   Rob Wise                 Reagon Fellowship

2010   Reitze Rodseth       Best SAJAA publication (SASA)

            Reitze Rodseth       Canada HOPE scholarship

            Reitze Rodseth       MMed awarded

            Reitze Rodseth       Recognised as a prolific researcher (UKZN)

2011   Reitze Rodseth       Phyllis Knocker/Bradlow Award (CMSA)

            Reitze Rodseth       Recognised: an emerging researcher (UKZN)

2012   Rob Wise                 Mary Weston Fund, UKZN

            Reitze Rodseth       Outstanding Achievement Award in Health

                                              Research Methodology, McMaster

                                              University, Canada

2013   Rob Wise                 MMed awarded

            Reitze Rodseth       Health Research Methodology Student   

                                              Publication Award, McMaster 

                                              University, Canada

2014   Belinda Kusel          MMed awarded 

2015   Rob Wise                  Edendale Hospital Saving Blood, Saving
                                               Lives Project

                                               - CPSI Awards - first runner up

                                               - NBPSEA - first place "best implemented 
                                                  project 2015"



quality care teaching.patient focused research

PMB Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Management

    Departmental office hours

    Monday -  Friday     8:00 am - 5:00 pm